Author Topic: Question about brisket  (Read 2833 times)

Offline joobacca

Question about brisket
« Reply #-1 on: November 25, 2015, 07:14:24 PM »
Hey folks!

I've done about three brisket cooks on the PBC since I've gotten it and so far the results have been amazing! My first brisket was a 17lb full packer that I tried hanging whole, but the flat ended up touching the coals, so I chopped off the flat to use for other applications. The second brisket was a 15lb full packer that I cut the flat off, to again, use for other applications. My third brisket was a 13lb full packer and it was done on the grill grate from start to finish, no wrap.

I'm new to the smoking world, so I was wondering what I should be expecting from the flat of the brisket. The first two briskets I did were wrapped in foil after the stall (around 160-165F) and then finished on the grill grate until they hit an internal temp of 203 and 208 respectively. The last brisket I cooked unwrapped all the way through, horizontally on the grill grate. In all cases, the flat was definitely more "dry" or "tough" than the fatty part of the point. I know this is to be expected, but how different should the cuts be?

All full packers were purchased at Costco and were USDA Prime grade ($3.99, $2.99 and $2.85/lb... a steal!). I have a probe thermometer in the thickest part of the point and try to keep the point of the probe away from deckle (not sure if it matters). I also use a thermopop to measure temps once I near the final cooking temp of 203F or so, but use it mainly to see how easily it slides through the meat. The points have always been like butter and usually the flats aren't too far off. The third cook, on the grill grate and unwrapped, definitely felt very tough with readings between 203-208F.

Is this to be expected?

Sorry for the long post! Happy Thanksgiving!

Jason

Offline jjjonz

Re: Question about brisket
« on: November 25, 2015, 07:32:48 PM »