Author Topic: Brisket Up Next  (Read 1754 times)

Offline Kona

Brisket Up Next
« Reply #-1 on: March 28, 2016, 11:05:05 AM »
So I'd like to try a brisket on the PBC. I've NEVER done a brisket before, even on my electric smoker. I'm not sure what exactly I should look for in buying the glorious hunk of meat. I hear about the point and flat etc but just was curious as to what I should be looking for? Also any tips would be greatly appreciated, especially for a PBC cook. I'll check their video as well.

Thanks!
Gordon
Boynton Beach, FL
PBC

Offline Aclarke44

Re: Brisket Up Next
« on: March 28, 2016, 11:23:29 AM »
I'd buy a "choice" brisket (full packer and not just the flat).  11-13 lbs is a good size for the PBC.  Look for decent marbling and even thickness towards the thin (flat) end.  When you pick it up make sure it's floppy and not stiff.   Trim the fat cap down to 1/4 or 1/8 thick.  Aaron Franklin has a couple videos on YouTube showing what to look for in a brisket and how to trim it.  As far as cooking, follow Noah's brisket video and you'll get a greaf brisket.   Only thing I don't do is add liquid to the foil when I wrap.  It's plenty juicy for me without but that's your call.   
Biggest tip I can give is do NOT cook to a certain temperature  (ie 195, 200, ect).  Cook to a certain feel and that is probe tender.  When you can stick a probe in the thickest part of the FLAT (temp probe will work) and it goes in with no resistance,  it's done.  This can happen anywhere between 195° - 210°.  Use 195 to know when to start checking.....

Offline smokeasaurus

• Global Moderator
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2016, 12:27:43 PM »
Choice will work nicely. If you get a select grade and if the kryovac packaging is good and tight, you can wet age it for a couple of weeks. That really helps select grade out a bunch. Just check with the butcher for the "kill" date not the packaging date.............
Got Smoke?

Keveri H1 Charcoal oven

Joined 12-5-11   Member# 32