Author Topic: Dry brining vs wet brining  (Read 861 times)

Offline Hank_Moody

Dry brining vs wet brining
« Reply #-1 on: January 11, 2018, 05:57:44 PM »
Newbie here. If you brine your birds (turkey/chicken), which brining method to you prefer and why?

Offline Pappymn

Dry brining vs wet brining
« on: January 11, 2018, 06:24:49 PM »
I've done it both ways. Not sure I can tell the difference. I do like that with dry brining I can get it under the skin. That to me is a clear advantage. Fridge space bring a second advantage

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Pappy

Proud Owner of Mak 2 Star General #1,000
Weber Performer
Blackstone SS Griddle
Member #109

Offline smokeasaurus

• Global Moderator
Re: Dry brining vs wet brining
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2018, 07:18:36 PM »
My chickens come out nice and juicy and I do not brine anymore since I got an airfryer. Now personally I like my chicken to taste like chicken so I can have versatile left over chicken meat.

Be careful not to brine too long. Poultry is a smoke and flavor magnet.

sweetwaterspice has nice brine mixtures to check out. So does spices inc and savory spices.
Got Smoke?

Keveri H1 Charcoal oven

Joined 12-5-11   Member# 32

Offline smokeasaurus

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2018, 07:22:03 PM »
This is in our recipe section but I will save you the search.

This my friend you have to try..................trust The Smoke on this one

Hound's Citrus Brined Chicken

Prepare the brine:   1 gallon water      1 cup Kosher salt or 1/2 cup table salt       juice of 3 oranges      juice of three limes

juice of three lemons    rinds from same     1 sliced white onion      1 head of garlic, crushed      stems from a bunch of

cilantro, chopped       serranos to taste, minimum of 4       rough ground cumin and coriander 2 Tbsp each      1/4 cup chili

powder or any ground chile you prefer     (1/4 cup onion powder is optional)      (1/4cup garlic powder is optional)  Place the