Author Topic: Newbie question...Chimney starter?  (Read 3482 times)

Offline getguinness

Newbie question...Chimney starter?
« Reply #-1 on: April 16, 2014, 10:30:55 AM »
Hey everybody, brand new PBC owner here.  I have a question for the PBC owners who use a chimney to light their Pit Barrels.  Approximately how many lit coals are you using to light it?  20 or more?  Half a chimney?  I can usually gauge how much I will need to light on my kettle based on what I'm cooking, but I'm new to drum/barrel cooking.

Out of curiosity I'm thinking about trying lighter fluid since I've heard there is no fluid taste in the finished product if you follow the instructions correctly, but in the long run I'd rather use my trusty chimney.  I just want to make sure I get it right, as I understand that getting the PBC lit properly is one of the keys to its "set it and forget it" nature.

Thanks!

Offline tnjimbob

• I'm a grillin & smokin' fool.
Re: Newbie question...Chimney starter?
« on: April 16, 2014, 10:39:16 AM »
Welcome to the forum!

First, I would say light 20 coals and go from there. I wouldn't use half a chimney to get the PBC up to temp unless it was rainy/windy/cold. They seldom require more than 10-20 lit coals added to unlit to get the PBC up to temp and maintain it. Other PBC users here can recommend how many unlit coals to use based on how long you want to cook.

Second, I would never use lighter fluid especially if you are using a chimney. They are designed to use a paraffin wax cube, balled up newspaper or even paper towels wadded up & blotted with any kind of cooking oil. All of these will get your coals started in 10-15 minutes and will leave no lighter fluid taste.

I use the Weber starter cubes under my chimney. They are around $3-4 for 24 of them.  Here is a link to Amazon.com:  http://tinyurl.com/q2baffd