Author Topic: 4 Years Cooking on my Traeger  (Read 1655 times)

Offline Smokin Don

• Pellet Smoker Cooking
4 Years Cooking on my Traeger
« Reply #-1 on: August 03, 2014, 03:22:04 AM »
Aug 02 2014

I have been cooking for 4 years with my Traeger 07E and love that smoker! Before I had used gas water smokers for about 20 years. A pellet smoker is sure easy to use and a breeze to keep clean. I clean mine every few cooks, just vacuum out and change the foil on the drip pan; it only takes 10 to 15 minutes. Every spring I have just done a scrape down of the lid in side and barrel and about twice a year clean the exterior and give it a light coat of mineral oil.

I just gave the exterior a cleaning today and you can see it still looks pretty good for 4 years of year around use. The lid is just a little scorched at the bottom and a little paint has come off in the front from the cook being a little messy loading, unloading and dripping sauces down the front.

Traeger was the first pellet smoker on the market and was not without some getting used to. Like any smoker you have to know your pit, like what temp are you getting at grill level and does it heat evenly across the grate.

Mine came with the 180 controller that was made by Ortech. At first I had problems with large temperature swings. One trick a lot were using was adding firebricks to the bottom to act as a heat sink. This seemed to help but the main thing that helped me was learning to use the temp settings on the controller along with the P numbers; they are what controls the on off time of the auger feeding pellets in smoke mode and after the controller reaches set temp.

The biggest thing that helped was to not go from 180 deg. to 300 deg.  but to ease it up to a set point one increment at a time then wait until you reach that temp. When you reach your set temp you will not get as much overshoot and it will settle in. I can usually go from 180 deg. to 300 in about 15 minutes.