Author Topic: PBC vs Akorn for Ribs, Brisket and Pulled Pork  (Read 8549 times)

Offline chriswalters

PBC vs Akorn for Ribs, Brisket and Pulled Pork
« Reply #-1 on: December 28, 2016, 09:42:49 AM »
Hey there!  Long time fan of BBQ, but total noob when it comes to smoking.  I've turned out some decent ribs on my gas grill using 2 zone indirect cooking, but looking to step up my game and have about $300 to spend.  I've spent some time researching here and elsewhere online and it looks like the PBC and the Akorn are 2 of the best options in that range.  It also seems like I can't go wrong with either option, but if you HAD to pick one for Ribs, Brisket and Pulled Pork based on the below criteria, which would you go with? 

My criteria in order of importance (Ribs, Brisket and Pulled Pork)
1) The BARK.  It's got to have that delicious, smoky bark. 
2) Minimal babysitting.  Set it and forget it (within reason)
3) Learning curve.  I don't want to ruin a bunch of food trying to get my cooking method dialed in.

Based on these criteria and knowing that I'm primarily looking to cook ribs, brisket and pulled pork (I hear the PBC makes amazing chicken too), is there a clear winner between the PBC and the Akorn? 

Offline smokeasaurus

• Global Moderator
Re: PBC vs Akorn for Ribs, Brisket and Pulled Pork
« on: December 28, 2016, 09:58:23 AM »
Pit Barrel Cooker hands down. Success right out of the box. About as close to a set it and forget it charcoal cooker as possible. On-line videos to get you started. You can call and talk to Noah and Amber if you have issues. Lots of successful PBC owners here as well.
Got Smoke?

Keveri H1 Charcoal oven

Joined 12-5-11   Member# 32

Offline N. Ontario Smoker

« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2016, 10:02:48 AM »
I love the Akorn and highly recommend it, but I have not used the PBC so I am a little biased. Tomcrete1 uses both so he will give you a better choice.
"Vegetarian" is an old Indian word for bad hunter.

Fred

Offline teesquare