Author Topic: Traeger Junior and controllers.....  (Read 3325 times)

Offline apsmoker

Traeger Junior and controllers.....
« Reply #-1 on: October 07, 2013, 04:01:04 PM »
Hi all,

I am a newbie to pellet grills and I purchased a Junior from Costco.  I have run some meals through it and it works just fine. I do understand the limitations etc. and I have a pretty good understanding of how it works. Mine originally came with the 3 step controller and not the digital. I like to tinker, and I am an engineer so I have some understanding of how things work. I have been making some mods to mine. I have a gasket on the lid, have added firebricks. In the process of adding some larger wheels and casters. The one thing I wanted from day one was the digital temp controller. So I started researching as soon as the smoker came home and have done a lot of reading and searching on the net and in forums. So after all this long winded intro I have some questions and basically a sanity check of the direction I want to go.

I just wanted to say that I have been using my Junior with the 3 temp controller, I watch it carefully and I have had some good success with it, but I realize there are a lot of limitations with that type of controller. I do not plan on getting a different smoker until I can't do what I want with this one. This one fits where I have a good place for it, it works for what I want to do at this point in time. I do want to add some other items, wish I could find a hopper extension, I am not much of a metal worker. Electronics, computers etc. yes, welding and sheet metal.... no...   :)