Author Topic: whole pig on PBC  (Read 3908 times)

Offline Durham Smoker

whole pig on PBC
« Reply #-1 on: June 10, 2016, 12:20:53 PM »
I had a plan to do a small 15-20 lb sucking pig on my kettle rotisserie.  Just got back from butcher and smallest thing they could get was a 29 pound pig.

I told them to cut off teh head so it would fit on the kettle but now i was wondering if I should try the PBC?

Any thoughts?

Offline mikeharold

• Central Coast, Cali.
Re: whole pig on PBC
« on: June 10, 2016, 12:57:58 PM »
If you do please take pics and give a report! I have no experience doing a whole pig and am just learning my PBC but I'm not sure why it wouldn't work as long as it fits. Very curious to hear what others have to say.
MAK 1 star #1184
Santa Maria open pit BBQ
PBC
Blackstone 36" Griddle
Uuni 2s
Weber 22" kettle w/slow-n-sear

Offline Kona

« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2016, 01:21:31 PM »
would a round of coals last for 29lbs of meat or would more need to be added through the cook?
Gordon
Boynton Beach, FL
PBC

Offline Durham Smoker

« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2016, 01:48:53 PM »
from what I can tell it will most likely take 5 hours or so at 275-300.  Should be fine with the coals as I've easily had them last for 8.

Offline tlg4942

• "Way down in Alabama"
« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2016, 01:58:35 PM »
Someone here talked about this way back when. They were folding the pig in half long ways into a square shape basically.  I never saw any results though.

Terry "Way down in Alabama"

Offline JimmyV

« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2016, 04:00:10 PM »
I've actually been pondering this idea myself. I would be very interested to see the process/results if you do give it a try.

Offline muebe

• Santa Clarita,Ca
« Reply #5 on: June 11, 2016, 02:49:11 AM »
This is a definite PBC challenge. Watching for your results...

Member #22
2 TBEs(1 natural gas & 1 LP gas)
OBS(Auberins dual probe PID, 900w finned element & convection fan mods)
2011 Memphis Select Pellet Smoker