Author Topic: How Many Briskets...  (Read 2739 times)

Offline Deathbot3

How Many Briskets...
« Reply #-1 on: June 25, 2016, 11:55:23 AM »
I'm a newbie to the forum but you all convinced me to pull the trigger on a new PBC a few weeks ago. I'm two cooks in and LOVE it. I started with a 14-pound packer and did chicken last night. Both turned out great. Amazed at how little of a learning curve there is on this thing. My previous set-ups were all on my 22.5-inch Weber Performer using the smokeanator and more recently the slow n sear. I was able to cook some really good barbecue but finally tired of the constant tweaking that had to be done to maintain consistent temps through an entire cook.

So, for my next cook I've volunteered to provide the protein for a family reunion next weekend. We've got 30 people attending and I'm planning to do three packers and a handful of chickens. My question is how many briskets do you think I can do in a single cook on the PBC? My plan is to hang them and then wrap at 170 degrees. I will also have my weber at my disposal and I'm thinking maybe I move two of the briskets over to the weber using the slow n sear once I wrap them. I also considered separating the point and flat before the cook - I've never done this before but seems pretty straightforward. The chickens will just go on once the briskets are resting in the cooler so I'm not really worried about that aspect. Also, I'm wondering if loading this thing with 40 pounds of meat will affect the total cooking time very much.

Thanks for any and all input.
Pit Barrel Cooker
22.5-inch Weber Performer w/ Slow N Sear
Classic Thermapen
ThermaQ

Offline stalag

Re: How Many Briskets...
« on: June 25, 2016, 12:46:15 PM »