Author Topic: Issues I've noticed...lid seal/coal staying lit.  (Read 4905 times)

Offline KevinM

Issues I've noticed...lid seal/coal staying lit.
« Reply #-1 on: July 04, 2016, 05:27:23 PM »
Hello all!

First and foremost, I love my PBC but that said I'm a total noob to preface this post.

Things I've noted is the lid isn't sealing properly anymore (had mine for roughly 6mths).  Today (Jul4th started cooking at 8:45 - 7lbs butt) I had to put a brick on top of the lid to get a better seal. So at first the grill ran 340 degrees the first hour before I could turn the lid enough and then use the brick to apply pressure. So that leads to prob number two, most of the time the grill is too hot (300+) and I've messed with the swivel door a lot, but what I end up doing is shoving newspaper pieces to plug the remainder hole where the rebar goes throug. Typically one/two holes plugged yields 250-275 degrees. But today the coals were excessively hot in the beginning  and once it settled to 275 it was steady for awhile but by 4pm coal temp was 199 and dropping so as of now I've cracked the lid and temp is rising. I just can't figure out how to get it consistant! Any advice for noobs would be very helpful!! Thank you in advance!

******disclaimer*******

In no way should anyone use this thread as a means of whether or not to purchase a Pit Barrel. In short, it's amazing and I absolutely love it!! I have produced some amazing food on this thing and it never disappoints!

Kevin
« Last Edit: July 10, 2016, 12:14:36 PM by KevinM »

Offline Kona

Re: Issues I've noticed...lid seal/coal staying lit.
« on: July 04, 2016, 05:42:51 PM »
Welcome! There's plenty of PBC info here, it's the only cooker I have and love it!

In regards to your lid, is it a buildup of grease etc under the rim that's causing it or is it possible your barrel is out of round? I had an issue where my barrel was out of round and I was having to press down hard and pull up hard on the lid to get it on and off.