Author Topic: Total newb about to order a PBC I think. Some thoughts I've had...  (Read 2820 times)

Offline Paul Hart

Total newb about to order a PBC I think. Some thoughts I've had...
« Reply #-1 on: January 11, 2015, 09:31:08 AM »
My first post here, signed up just for this forum but looking through Everything else as well.
I got a gas fired Big Easy for Christmas from my GF and in the process of reading up on it I ran across the PBC and it def caught my attention. I felt like the Big Easy wasn't the right smoker for me. BUT, I think I'm keeping it for the infrared grill top and it's propane usage, so that I can cook quicker when I don't feel like waiting on charcoal. Plus after scrolling through here it appears to include a basket that works well for chicken legs in the PBC.
One thing of interest that I found was a topology map of my area and I could actually zoom right in to my house and get an exact elevation. I'm at exactly 554 feet. Pretty cool. So, I think I'll end up having it set at 1/4 open or maybe just a hair less?
Does anyone recommend this as a first smoker? I want something fairly easy. My next choice would probably be a WSM. Those seem to be a bit more trouble or effort. Maybe later?
I'm also looking for a grill grate that I can cut in half so that I can hang and shelf things at the same time.
I'll probably order one today or tomorrow, and a DOT at the same time to keep track of internal temps.
Thanks for reading and for any suggestions you guys have before or after I do this.
Paul
PBC
Weber Performer
Smokenator
Blow torch

Offline Paul Hart