Author Topic: The Thanksgiving Thread  (Read 3627 times)

Offline psousa781

The Thanksgiving Thread
« Reply #-1 on: November 03, 2017, 09:09:01 AM »
Wanted to start a discussion around plans for Thanksgiving.  How are you all planning to use your PBC (or any other smoker(s) you have)? This is my first year with it so I’m going to go simple.  I was thinking it could be cool to all use the template below to share their plans. :)

Food - Turkey
Smoker - PBC
Fuel - Stubbs + Hickory chunk
Notes - will use a simple brine and traditional wet rub as this is my first rodeo

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline smokeasaurus

• Global Moderator
Re: The Thanksgiving Thread
« on: November 03, 2017, 09:18:57 AM »
I like your plan. Sounds like a winner.

Wendy and I have been married three years and we have never had a single Thanksgiving dinner in our own house. Either we were burying family or moving or she had to work. We were able last year to have Thanksgiving dinner at the Elks Lodge.

This year will be different. We have a super sweet double wall mount convection oven in our new place in Texas and that is going to get a work-out.

I am gonna grab a Butterball breast and even though it will just be us two this year, I want to smell that turkey roasting while I am watching football.

I also want some sweet taters and biscuits for sides.

Wendy works in a Doctors office at the rural clinic these days and they are closed for Thanksgiving so gosh darn-it, this might just happen this year  :)
Got Smoke?

Keveri H1 Charcoal oven

Joined 12-5-11   Member# 32

Offline Roget

« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2017, 09:55:44 AM »
I'm not going to go so simple as much as just turning down the volume this year.
It's going to be just V & me so I will try to be careful not to cook too much of any one thing.

Menu will be a turkey breast, mashed potatoes, yams, corn, green bean casserole, oyster dressing, homemade dinner rolls, & iced tea.