Author Topic: Brisket Thoughts  (Read 2137 times)

Offline bboyle19

Brisket Thoughts
« Reply #-1 on: September 03, 2017, 03:35:37 PM »
Have a full packer from Costco going to spend my Monday cooking.  I want to try on the grate this time instead of hanging.  Do I do it Fat side up the whole time or flip during the cook?

Offline Roget

Re: Brisket Thoughts
« on: September 03, 2017, 06:29:38 PM »
I'm no expert on briskets (some who are will probably chime in), but I always smoke my briskets fat up the entire cook.
YCDBSOYA

GMG Davy Crockett
GMG Jim Bowie
Charbroil SRG
Charbroil BigEasy
Blackstone Pizza Oven
Blackstone Flat Top X 2 (36" & 28")
DBS w/Auberins dual probe PID
Anova Precision Sous Vide Cooker
Grand Hall 3 burner Grill w/rotisserie,smoke tray, & side burner

Offline KJRsmoker

« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2017, 07:37:43 PM »
I've done several briskets, and I'm not claiming to be an expert by any means, but after trimming, I've always done fat side up.
2016 MAK 2 Star 2817 ~ Remote Boss
Blackstone Griddle 28"
Gas Grill

Offline scottv

Brisket Thoughts
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2017, 08:36:42 PM »
I always do fat side down. IMO fat down helps protects the meat from drying out

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk

Offline smokeasaurus

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2017, 10:02:23 AM »
I would start fat side up for the first two hours and then flip it over. I used to do this in my Ugly drum smoker with great results. Let the fat cap tighten up and cook a bit and then flip so the coals don't get inundated with grease drippings at the start of the cook and cool off too soon.
Got Smoke?

Keveri H1 Charcoal oven

Joined 12-5-11   Member# 32

Offline Smokerjunky

« Reply #4 on: September 05, 2017, 03:26:12 PM »