Author Topic: First brisket (ever). PBC, no wrap.  (Read 9950 times)

Offline Jim_R

First brisket (ever). PBC, no wrap.
« Reply #-1 on: September 28, 2014, 09:54:29 PM »
Hi there.  Brand new to LTBBQ, and brand new to pit cooking in general.  Anything besides simple grilling, anyway.

My nephew shared some of his brisket and chicken with me a few weeks ago, and it made me realize that I was missing out on something fun.  I don't have a lot of room, I'm a complete novice, and I wanted a cooker I would _want_ to use (i.e., simple to set up, simple to clean, and simple to get decent results with), and I ended up getting a Pit Barrel Cooker.  So far, I've done ribs, chicken, and salmon on it, and have been very pleased.

Today, I tried brisket for the first time (in my life).  I think it came out fine for a first try, but I'm an easy guy to please.  I'm sure there's plenty of room for improvement.  My plan is to try a variety of cooking methods, and start feeling out what I think I prefer or don't prefer.

I wanted to keep my first cook as simple as possible...sort of establish a "baseline" to which I could start adding variables.  I decided to use a simple 50/50 mix of kosher salt and course cracked pepper, and I also chose to cook straight through on the cooker without a wrap.

The brisket was ~13-14 lbs after trimming, and I let it go for about 6.5 hours.  Probe thermometer near the top read 197 when I took it out.