Author Topic: Prepping Chicken...  (Read 18255 times)

Offline frogpond

Prepping Chicken...
« Reply #-1 on: November 29, 2016, 12:01:41 PM »
So I was just doing a little reading on prepping chicken for cooking, and I came across this article.  A couple of things it mentions that I hadn't heard, or go against what I have heard...

1. It says to never rinse chicken under running water.  The article states to simply just pat it dry without rinsing it...for sanitary reasons.

2. It also says to cook the chicken to an IT of 185 degrees.  That seems high to me..and higher than what I've seen suggested here. 

I'm no expert on the topic at all.  That's why I'm making this post to see what you all think.  The first time I did chicken legs..and when I did my first whole chicken, and my thanksgiving turkey..I rinsed them all in my kitchen sink before patting them dry with paper towels.  Is that the method you all use to "wash/rinse" ? 

Also, the temp gauge that came with my big easy only goes up to 170 I believe it is...so I don't know how to monitor the temp up to 185.  But, again, that seems high to me.  Do y'all use the 165 temp?

Thanks,
Justin

Offline frogpond

Re: Prepping Chicken...
« on: November 29, 2016, 12:02:04 PM »

Offline Savannahsmoker

« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2016, 12:05:35 PM »
I pull when internal temps of the breast are 160 degrees and the thigh 170 degrees.
While resting under a foil tent the temperature always rises about 5 to 10 degrees.
Art

Blaz'n Grill Works Grid Iron (Copper)
Royall RG 2000 (gone to live with nephew)
Weber Genesis E-330 (Copper)
The Big Easy
Weber Smokey Joe Gold for fun and vacation,

Offline frogpond

« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2016, 12:09:19 PM »
I pull when internal temps of the breast are 160 degrees and the thigh 170 degrees.
While resting under a foil tent the temperature always rises about 5 to 10 degrees.