Author Topic: Photography Virgin  (Read 12329 times)

Offline RickB

Photography Virgin
« Reply #-1 on: June 18, 2013, 08:13:56 PM »
Ok I will admit I am photography virgin. So with that being said I need a little advice. I am just starting out with a DSLR and I would like advice at this point for food photography. The problem I always had with point and shoots was depth of field. All my close ups had tunnel vision so to speak. With PAS cameras you could usually only change one or two of the main parameters in photography. Those being shutter speed, f-stop and ISO. This is what I know.

Shutter Speed.  The longer the the shutter is open the more light to the picture. Down side is the longer the shutter is open the more possibility of blur.

F-Stop. The larger the F-Stop the greater the depth of field. Down side the larger the F-Stop the more light required.

ISO. The lower the ISO the sharper the image. The down side, the lower the ISO the more light required.

Seems it’s all about light. With that being said I tried a few pics at the extremes with a tripod. While the result was perfect,  the need of a tripod was limiting. I took this pic with a ISO of 200, F-stop of 22 and a 30 second shutter speed. Great DOF which is what I am looking for. Need some advice for hand held pics.  Thanks

« Last Edit: June 18, 2013, 08:17:52 PM by RickB »

Offline TwoPockets

Re: Photography Virgin
« on: June 18, 2013, 08:20:19 PM »
Point and shoot does enough for me, but I am sure Dee will be along shortly to give you instructions on the finer points of food photography.
Ken

Weber Performer charcoal grill
Char-Broil The Big Easy
Char-Broil H20 electric smoker (back from the dead)
Camp Chef Expedition propane outdoor range
Camp Chef Italia Artisan pizza oven
Half a ton(literally) of cast iron cookware

Offline deestafford

• Augusta, GA
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2013, 08:29:07 PM »