Author Topic: Tips For Using Lump Charcoal In PBC ?  (Read 12246 times)

Offline ChrisD46

Tips For Using Lump Charcoal In PBC ?
« Reply #-1 on: December 17, 2014, 06:59:55 PM »
Previously I have only tried Kingsford and Stubbs briquettes in my PBC ... Any tips or experiences you can share for using lump charcoal ? I happen to have a bag of Cowboys laying around and thought I would use it for doing up a whole chicken or pork butt with a digital thermometer & meat probe to monitor internal meat temps ... Your thoughts ?

Offline jpl62

• Hi this is john
Re: Tips For Using Lump Charcoal In PBC ?
« on: December 17, 2014, 08:29:25 PM »
i am new to using this cooker but i am sold on using lump charcoal. I tried briquettes with the lighter fluid method and had inconsistent results. Once i switched to lump charcoal i am not going back. I am just  a copycat of 1Big_ER. i put about half a load of unlit lump charcoal in the basket and place in the cooker. i fill a small chimney of lump and make sure it gets nice and hot. It can take anywhere from 15 to 20 minutes. I don't go by time i go by how hot and red the coals look. Next i dump the hot coals in the cooker with the unlit coals for 10 minutes with the lid off. That is the critical part. You need those 10 minutes for the lit coals to properly light the unlit coals otherwise you run the chance of the fire going out. I made the most fantastic marinaded chicken last night. Even my sister who is a home economics teacher said the chicken was amazing. She asked. "What did you cook this thing in?...I said just a simple drum (pit barrel cooker). The hung chicken was done in about an hour so i decided to take out the grill and place the chicken half's on the grill with the skin side down to crisp the chicken....It took 2 minutes....I didn't use any flavored wood.....I decided that i needed to regulate the temperature in case the fire would get extinguished during the cook so i drilled a hole near the grill level and screwed in a th