Author Topic: My thoughts on the new PK360  (Read 25333 times)

Offline 70monte

My thoughts on the new PK360
« Reply #-1 on: January 08, 2017, 07:53:23 PM »
I ordered the new PK360 and have had it a couple of weeks now.  I've done three cooks on it so far but I'm still learning to use it to some degree.  It does have some features and aspects that I like over the original PK.

The first thing that I like is that it is quite a bit taller than the original grill.  While i"m not a tall guy(5'4") I still felt like I am bending down quite a bit with the original grill.  The pedestal stand is actually pretty nice and once you get the base tightened to the round post, it is very sturdy.  I know that this was a concern with some of the people on the PK FB page but this thing doesn't feel like it's going to tip over at all.  The wheels are small so this grill doesn't roll as well as the wheels on the original PK cart so that could be considered a small negative.  Though I haven't done it, I don't see someone rolling it through the grass or rougher terrain.  If you need to move it to somewhere other than on a fairly smooth surface, I would just lift the grill off of the stand and move these two pieces separately.

The cylindrical lower air tubes are unique and make it fairly easy to dial in your temps, especially with the included thermometer.  They only have a 90 degree range of motion and the plastic piece on the end of the tube has a marking on it so you know where the opening is.  When the mark is straight up, the vents are fully open.  90 degrees to the right and the vents are fully closed.  If you use this grill without the stand, the vent tubes are still fully functional so that the grill doesn't have to be elevated on anything to get good airflow.