Author Topic: Looking to Experiment - Memphis Dust  (Read 13315 times)

Offline Kona

Looking to Experiment - Memphis Dust
« Reply #-1 on: May 31, 2018, 09:21:39 AM »
So, I'm a die hard user of Memphis Dust for my go to rub but as with all things BBQ, I can't leave well enough alone and like to experiment. I've been thinking about tweaking the rub a bit. The rub does have brown sugar and I found a place online that sells "maple brown sugar". I thought about doing a direct replacement with that as well as in my BBQ sauce. I've also found "powdered honey" which I've NEVER used before but find interesting and I'm looking to add that to the rub and possibly my sauce. Anyone use either the maple brown sugar or the powdered honey?
Gordon
Boynton Beach, FL
PBC

Offline HighOnSmoke

• Global Moderator
  • Palm Bay, Florida
Re: Looking to Experiment - Memphis Dust
« on: May 31, 2018, 10:32:10 AM »
I tweaked my Memphis Dust rub by adding cumin and cayenne pepper. My last batch I made with Kosmos Q Maple Brown Sugar and it added a better taste in my opinion. One thing about this rub there are many ways to tweak it to make it the way you want it to be. I have a bottle of honey powder but I haven't used it yet in this rub. May give it a shot next time I need some.
Mike

Auto Akorn Kamado
Recteq Stampede
Recteq Bullseye 380X
Weber Master Touch
PK Original Grill
Weber Jumbo Joe
Weber Smokey Joe
Green Mountain Grill Pizza Insert
Blackstone 36" and 22" griddles

Offline Kona

« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2018, 10:36:26 AM »
I tweaked my Memphis Dust rub by adding cumin and cayenne pepper. My last batch I made with Kosmos Q Maple Brown Sugar and it added a better taste in my opinion. One thing about this rub there are many ways to tweak it to make it the way you want it to be. I have a bottle of honey powder but I haven't used it yet in this rub. May give it a shot next time I need some.