Author Topic: Heat Diffusers?  (Read 2540 times)

Offline DragonsEmber

Heat Diffusers?
« Reply #-1 on: August 11, 2017, 12:40:09 AM »
I'm a newbie to the pellet smoker game. I have a Rec Tec order to place in the near future, but in the meantime, I'm trying to make a cheap smoker I have work for me.  ZGRILL Elite 900. Its a new grill on the market through an Indiegogo campaign. Apparently this company sold the same grill to all of their pre order members (myself and about 1040 others)but changed the design for some grills part way through the manufacturing process.

Some people got diffusers over the firepot with grease pan and some people only received a slanted grease pan.

I received a grill with only the slanted grease pan.  No diffuser. The original design has the firepot in the middle with he diffuser. But the design I received has the firepot on the left with only a slanted grease pan.

The temp swings I see are about 40 degrees over all when pellets stoke the flame.  I placed a cookie sheet over the pot to diffuse heat to the side opposite the firepot.  No holes in it. The heat is now more on what was the cooler end but it feels like all the heat accumulates there now.

Not really sure what I'm doing here. I guess the firepot on the right simulates an offset smoker.

Should I loose any type of diffuser? Or add holes to actually diffuse the heat? Right now I'm just redirecting it.

Equipment: Z Grills 900 Elite Smoker
Future Addition: Rec Tec RT-300
Fuel of Choice:  Cookinpellets,  Lumberjack pellets
Completed cooks: Pork Ribs, Chicken breast
Future cooks: Beef Ribs, Brisket, whole chicken, wings
BBQ Sauce preference: Aaron Franklin BBQ, Sweet Baby Rays Original

Offline hikerman

Re: Heat Diffusers?
« on: August 11, 2017, 07:15:11 AM »