Author Topic: When you buy a boat get a marine survey  (Read 14135 times)

Offline Tailgating is my game

When you buy a boat get a marine survey
« Reply #-1 on: July 13, 2018, 10:30:08 AM »
This has been a year that so many of the people I know have had engine problems many with new used boats. One friend bought an expensive used twin engine boat & did not have the engine checked.......One engine was bad $$$$ later he was back in the water.

A Marine survey will cost & there are no guarantees just like with a home inspection but with that one shortcut of skipping the survey it can cost you big, big bucks.

The old story of the free boat that cost $20,000 is so true & it is not just with the engine there is electrical, hull integrity & now with this fuel we are using gas tanks & fuel lines. This is just a starter list.

So yes I am worried about my boat & I have given the person doing the survey my own list to go over. I will be there (I am no expert) just to make sure. Get there a couple of hours early if you do get a survey as the owner may start a troubled engine early so when you get there it runs well but really has trouble starting.  Also, take it out for a test ride before buying.

Many times a person goes to sell a boat that is starting to have a problem ( :'() If at a dock, interview people on that dock about the boat & owner. Look at how clean the boats is as this could say a lot to how well they took care of it. With my boat the guy next door in a slip gave me lots of info on this boat it was 80/20 good. The 20% has been sent ahead to the person doing the survey.