Author Topic: Who runs Linux? And which one do you suggest for someone just getting into it?  (Read 732 times)

Offline smokendevo

• Northern Ontario
I was looking at Linux Mint Debian. How about Fedora on a live bootable? Mint seems to be the flavor most prefer?
Open for suggestions as I am just  trying to de-mystify linux for me.

Offline smoker pete

• Smokin' Pete's BBQ Blog
You might look into Ubuntu at http://www.ubuntu.com/ 

It's Fast, free and incredibly easy to use, the Ubuntu operating system powers millions of desktop PCs, laptops and servers around the world.

When I was a sys admin a few years back I played with Ubuntu and it's real easy to use, etc and a good way to become proficient with Linux.  Enjoy the simplicity of Ubuntu's intuitive interface. Fast, secure and with thousands of apps to choose from, the sleek Ubuntu desktop experience is now optimised for multitouch devices, including laptop trackpads and touchscreens, as well as the familiar keyboard and mouse.

Hope this helps  :)
MAK 2 Star General - Serial # 2325
Instant Pot Pressure Cooker
Char Broil SRG

Offline grossie

I agree with Pete, try Ubuntu. It's every bit as easy as Windows to install and almost as easy to keep updated.

A couple of good options would be creating a bootable USB version: http://www.ubuntu.com/download/desktop/create-a-usb-stick-on-windows or my favorite, run a virtual inside of Windows to try it out. You could use either vmware player or virtualbox. I chose virtualbox (https://www.virtualbox.org/) at work and at home. Virtualbox will also let you play around with multiple distributions, to make sure you find the one you like.

Grossie
PBC
Cabela's Ultimate Cookstation
Pizza oven for above
TBE
BEESR

Offline spuds

• Girl says Hi from the SoCal Mtns.