Author Topic: Can you become Smoker Obsessed?  (Read 6372 times)

Offline veryolddog

• New Braunfels, Texas
Can you become Smoker Obsessed?
« Reply #-1 on: May 29, 2013, 02:26:17 PM »
Hello Everyone,

I really enjoy smoking. I have been doing this for five years and I do realize that I do not have the experience that you folks bring to the table. But, for me, it is fun, enjoyable, and provides for me something to achieve within my bounds of reality at age 70.

I use my new Yoder every chance I can get rather than the oven in our home. I will roast potatoes, cook the meat, and and make appetizers to serve guests. It's great and I am glad that I can get up and be involved in this process. Even my wife thinks that the food results are even better than before and she is happy that I am involved in something productive.

So, I am now thinking about adding another smoker to my list. And, ever since reading Jaxon's thread and watched his video on his Country Time offset wood smoker, I have been intrigued by smoking on a wood/charcoal fire. So, as usual, I have been doing a lot of reading on "stick" burners and what they do and how they do it. So,......I have been searching the internet looking at a variety of equipment watching videos and learning as much as I can about using an offset wood fired smoker.

I know that I am spoiled by the Yoder Pellet Burner, but wood smoking seems like a little bit of a challenge. I would be going from "set it and forget it" to "tweaking".

I guess that I must be "nuts", but, I think for me that this would be a challenge. And, at this time in life, I do not have that many challenges any more except for this. And, I really do not care if the kids get $1500.00 less and I really have no reason to deny myself a few little pleasures at this time. What does it matter in the scheme of things anyway?