Author Topic: E-Learning experience  (Read 679 times)

Offline Jaxon

E-Learning experience
« Reply #-1 on: June 06, 2013, 02:30:53 PM »
"E-Learning" means learning by "error".  I'm learning a lot that way...but I Am still learning.

Last weekend I cooked 2 boston butts - each weighed 7.5 lbs - in the offset.  Usually I'll cut the butts into 2 pieces so I can cook 'em in less time.  This time, I just wanted to see if I COULD smoke 2 full ones at one time.  I found out I can.  Howsomever, by leaving 'em in the smoker for the full 8 to 9 hours, they got too much smoke.  The meat tasted good inside, but the bark was way yonder over-smoked...even mixing it all together didn't help much. 
What I learned:

1.  Smoke 'em too long and they will tasted like smoke, not pork.
2.  After 4 or 5 hours in the smoke, wrap 'em in foil the rest of the way.
3.  I trimmed all the bark off and the meat was like we wanted it - light smoke flavor.

So, if I over-smoke again (probably won't) trim the smoky bark. 

B T W, the one we trimmed is the one we sliced thinly for THAT kind of sandwich.  I am leaning more and more to sliced pork for sammies.  I like the way it stacks and stays on the bun.
<><
You're at the top of the food chain...eat like it!

Offline Hub

Re: E-Learning experience
« on: June 06, 2013, 02:33:53 PM »
I've learned more by the "E" method than any other.  Got a wall full of diplomas from the School of Hard Knocks.  Great faculty there  ::)

Hub
Committed Pellethead & BBQ Writer
KCBS MCBJ & CTC
Ph.B.
Memphis Advantage
NOS American-made Traeger 075
Weber Performer
NG Weber Spirit (warming oven)
PBC
NO SMOKE DETECTOR IN MY OUTDOOR KITCHEN

Offline muebe

• Santa Clarita,Ca
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2013, 02:42:59 PM »
I am one of those people who do not like that heavy smoke flavor. Wrapping the meat in foil after the first few hours solves that problem as you mentioned Jack.
Member #22
2 TBEs(1 natural gas & 1 LP gas)