Author Topic: Greetings from Omaha, NE!  (Read 3389 times)

Offline Mr. Michael

Greetings from Omaha, NE!
« Reply #-1 on: July 07, 2014, 04:41:41 PM »
So glad I stumbled upon this forum. I've been grilling on my various gas grills for about 10 years. Started with a 4 burner Brinkmann that I thought was the best thing ever! 3 years later and many pieces had rusted out.
So I stepped up to a Weber Genesis 310. LP powered. Bought it in 2009? It was a model closeout and the last year before they moved the burner controls to the front. VERY happy with this grill. Almost 5 years and it works as flawlessly as the day I unpacked it.

About 3 months ago I decided I wanted to start smoking meat. Found a Kenmore LP smoker on Craigslist and have been quite happy with it as well. Just did a couple of butts over 4th of July and they were fantastic. But I realize I want, no NEED charcoal.

Ordered a Pit Barrel Cooker, and am currently waiting on delivery. Super excited to fire that puppy up, great support here for that particular unit.

And this past Saturday, my dad gave me his older (maybe 8 years old) Weber Kettle. Still in pretty good shape, it's a 22.5 Silver. I've slow cooked a chicken with a few Hickory chips on it. That turned out pretty good for my first try, I'm sure I'll get better with more experimentation.

Grilled burgers on it last night. GAWD, that charcoal flavor makes a good burger! Still gonna keep my Genesis for quick cooks, but this kettle is awesome!

Sorry for the long post, just wanted to say hello, and give a little insight as to what's in (soon to be 8) my arsenal.
Michael
Low and Slow, that's the Tempo!

- The Beastie Boys

Weber Genesis 310
Weber Kettle 22.5
Kenmore propane smoker
Pit Barrel Cooker

Offline TMB

• Toney, Alabama
Re: Greetings from Omaha, NE!
« on: July 07, 2014, 04:44:53 PM »
Welcome from Alabama, I believe your gonna like it here..   

After a few weeks I'll start talking you into an SRG    :D
Member #2
2 SRG's  (infrared)