Author Topic: Hello & Request for Help from Indiana  (Read 3335 times)

Offline budbrew2

Hello & Request for Help from Indiana
« Reply #-1 on: November 09, 2015, 07:31:02 PM »
Hello.  My name is Bud and I'm from Zionsville, In - just outside of Indianapolis.  A little background...I am a Harley Davidson technician and my interests are beer making, seeing live blues and making good smoked foods for family and friends. 

I wanted to join this forum to try and gain some knowledge from those who have been using the PBC longer than I have so as to improve my skills.  Please forgive in advance as I tend to be a bit verbose in trying to explain things.

I purchased a PBC over the summer and have been struggling to make consistently great food.  I feel like it is all user error in temp control...though I think I'm doing things like I'm supposed to be.  I have made several attempts at pork back ribs, pork butt, chicken halves/wings and salmon. I've had the most success w/pork butt, though it takes much longer on the PBC than I thought it was supposed to (approx. 1-1/4 hours per pound).  Ribs have either overcooked in a little over 2-1/2 hours or are done but not tender in 4.  Chicken halves are getting done in the 2ish hour window, but the skin has never been crispy.  Wings I made last night finally achieved crispy skin after 2-ish hours, but were overcooked.