Author Topic: Newbie intro  (Read 269 times)

Offline multi_smoke

Newbie intro
« Reply #-1 on: May 27, 2019, 08:28:42 AM »
Hi folks,
     I'm not a vendor. I'm just a regular meat-smokin dude. My background is that I started with
a barrel smoker with offset smoke box about twenty years ago. I later went lazy with
a Bradley analog electric smoker. After awhile, that one had seen better days and I upgraded
to the Bradley digital. Recently I had a combo wood bisquette feeding problem and heating problem.
I fixed the temp issue by following suggestions from their forum (cleaning and re-fastening contacts in
the smoke generator), and I created a little rube goldberg thing to fix the puck feeding problem.  While I
was debugging the problems with the digital smoke generator, and frankly thinking I was going to have
to buy another one, I started researching pellet smokers as I had almost bought one instead
of the Bradley back when.
    So after unexpectedly fixing the Bradley, I ended up with a new pellet smoker as well. After a good deal
of research, I chose the Camp Chef Smokepro SG 24, bronze (was on-sale). I bought this model because I liked
the idea of the slide and grill feature. That is, you pull a handle and it moves a flame retarding metal plate out of the
way so that you can get direct flame to your food, sort of. Got the 24 model because it's just my wife and I most of the time.
I'll save my first question for separate post, but I'll go on to say how I feel about these smokers.
1. Manual style barrel smoker - lots of work, but makes fantastic Q. Still to date, I made the best pork butt than
any I'd ever tasted. I can't say that for ribs or chicken or turkey or any other meat. But I just happened to fall into
the best pork bbq. I had bought a book and I'll give credit where due..."Smoke & Spice" by Cheryl Alters Jamison and Bill Jamison.
I used their "The Renowned Mr. Brown" recipe including their Southern SOP mop. The parts that were my choice was that I