Author Topic: I am now on the waiting list!  (Read 757 times)

Offline veryolddog

• New Braunfels, Texas
I am now on the waiting list!
« Reply #-1 on: August 04, 2013, 10:06:53 AM »
I have been visiting the VA for the last 6 months every month to be treated for a bad hip. On one occasion, I received an injection into the hip of a steroid medicine that lasted for a week. On July 31, I visited for another Ortho Consultation, in which they pointed out on the X-Rays the problems with both of my hips, the left one in particular. The X-Ray clearly shows that there is no cartilage in my left hip joint and that I have a bone on bone condition. When I walk, I hear the bone and feel the "pop" of the hip in the joint. On a daily basis, the deterioration has become more noticeable.

The funny thing is: I took a bullet in that hip in Viet Nam 45 years ago, and in 2009, it began to bother me. All those years and I hiked, and walked, fly-fished, occasionally jogged and jumped out of perfectly good airplanes, the last being in 2006.

I am now on the waiting list to have hip replacement surgery. Unfortunately, because the list is so large, I have about a 3 month wait. By the time that they get around to me, I will be grateful for the surgery in order to alleviate this very frustrating condition.

It has been over four years since I could take a decent walk. At least I have been losing weight and hopefully, in the next 3 months, I can lose another 25 lbs. Recovery is going to be a challenge. The surgery itself is a 2 hour process. There are animations on the internet which illustrate the process if anyone is interested. They will keep me in the hospital for 3 days after which, I will either go home or I will go to a rehabilitation facility which is geared towards intensive physical therapy. If I go home, they will be sending someone to the house every day to do the same. Again, walking and leg movements are going to be the key.