Author Topic: Offset Smoker  (Read 9248 times)

Offline Jammin2Dub

Offset Smoker
« Reply #-1 on: July 24, 2015, 10:46:38 AM »
I currently use a Char-Griller Duo Black 3-Burner (40,800-BTU) Liquid Propane Gas Grill. Recently I have been looking into getting an offset smoker. I have never used one before and wanted to get some more insight to see if a offset smoker is worth the investment. My grilling is primary on the weekends and I greatly enjoy smoking meat low and slow.

Below is what I have found compatible with my grill. Does anyone have some reviews or advise?

Char-Griller Multi Function 250-sq in Portable Charcoal Grill

Char-Griller Duo Black 3-Burner (40,800-BTU) Liquid Propane Gas Grill

Proud to be a smoker

Char-Griller Duo Black 3-Burner (40,800-BTU) Liquid Propane Gas Grill & Smoker

Offline smokeasaurus

• Global Moderator
Re: Offset Smoker
« on: July 24, 2015, 10:57:47 AM »
I hate to tinkle in anybodys Kool-Aid but stay away from POS offsets. I have ran a char-griller all the way to custom 600 lb units. Even the best off-sets will take up a bunch of your time. You have to learn fire management. A cheap off-set however can put out some great chow. You just have to work harder at it due to poorly fitting doors and super thin metal.
Here is a good article from Meathead over at Amazing Ribs:  (This pretty much says it all)
http://amazingribs.com/tips_and_technique/offset_smokers.html
Got Smoke?

Keveri H1 Charcoal oven

Joined 12-5-11   Member# 32

Offline smokeasaurus

• Global Moderator
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2015, 11:18:13 AM »