Author Topic: PBC Temp  (Read 1309 times)

Offline Scgator

PBC Temp
« Reply #-1 on: September 16, 2018, 07:48:49 PM »
What temp does everyone's PBC run at during a normal cook? I did some ribs yesterday and it would only run around 230F. I had to crack the lid to get the temp up. I'm not sure if this was the problem or not but I only started about 10 pieces of charcoal in my chimney. Would that be the reason? I'm still pretty new at smoking so I would appreciate any suggestions. Thanks and God Bless!     P.S.  My ribs and chicken turned out amazing!!

Offline hikerman

Re: PBC Temp
« on: September 16, 2018, 07:58:13 PM »
I would typically put about 40 briquets or a small Weber coal starter-full. When they are all going good, dump on top of your pan of unlit coals and wait about 12 minutes before hanging any meat. Temps vary between 275 and 325F but weather, wind, etc can affect everything.

Offline sparky

• northern california
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2018, 07:59:52 PM »
I would typically put about 40 briquets or a small Weber coal starter-full. When they are all going good, dump on top of your pan of unlit coals and wait about 12 minutes before hanging any meat. Temps vary between 275 and 325F but weather, wind, etc can affect everything.

Perfect.  ^^^^^
PBC
Cobb Grill
Go Sun Solar Cooker
Weber Jumbo Joe
Weber Mastertouch
member #66

Offline Pit Barrel Cooker Co.

« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2018, 11:36:18 AM »
Hello Scgator,
You would want to use about 40 briquets for the Pit Barrel Cooker. Please feel free to check out the Lighting Your PBC video here: https://www.pitbarrelcooker.com/resources/lighting-your-pbc/.
We hope this helps and please feel free to contact us anytime should you have questions or concerns.
Best,
The PBC Team

Offline phoccer

• Random bits of info
« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2018, 09:31:42 PM »