Author Topic: Trying To Decide  (Read 3139 times)

Offline flatbreadjunction

Trying To Decide
« Reply #-1 on: April 22, 2016, 03:37:34 PM »
Hi, I am new to the site.  I have been researching pellet grills for a few months now.  I am looking for some advice.  I have narrowed down my choices to two, a rec tec 680 and a Blazn Grills Grid Iron.  To make a long story short, it has basically come down to the fact that these two seem to give the most value for the buck and you still get a high quality product. So now I am trying to figure out if there is enough difference between the two to justify spending $400 more for the grid iron for similarly equipped grills. I would appreciate any input you might have.

Offline teesquare

• Global Moderator
  • Brevard NC - Home Of Hillbilly Caviar
    • Savor Spices
Re: Trying To Decide
« on: April 22, 2016, 03:52:57 PM »
I own a Rec-Tec as well as a MAK, and there are several here that do...As well the Grid Iron is popular.... And both are really good. In fact, I think they currently use the same controller. Each has some features that the other does not, so I would suggest drawing a vertical line on a sheet of paper, and list the features  in the order of how you prioritize the importance of each.
Then, you can look at them and kind of "score" the 2 for your own uses.

And - not to add confusion to your choices - but the Mak 1 Star is a lot of grill for the money as well. And - it is ALL American made, and the list of accessories you can get, and upgrades available is very impressive. They are one of our sponsors - so give them a look-ver if it is within reason for you.
BBQ is neither verb or noun. It is an experience.
Fine Swine and Bovine BBQ Team - Home of squeal and veal!
Beer, Butter and Bacon make everything better.
PBC
PBC Jr.
MAK 2 Star General #639
MAK 2 Star General #4401

Offline smokeasaurus

• Global Moderator
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2016, 03:54:15 PM »
Can't help you with this one. Both are great grills.