Author Topic: My kitchen and new glass top range  (Read 22338 times)

Offline Smokin Don

• Pellet Smoker Cooking
My kitchen and new glass top range
« Reply #-1 on: October 22, 2016, 09:58:28 PM »
Oct 22 2016

I have never been anywhere to have a gas range so I am only knowledgeable with electric ranges. I have been cooking for over 40 years now. My early ranges were the ones with the coil elements and remember the drip pans under the burners were a pain to keep clean.

18 years ago I got my first glass top stove, an Amana, and it had a convection oven. It came with Cerama Bryte cleaner and it worked well. I have used cast iron and carbon steel on it for at least 10 years. The glass top still looked like new and our son and wife took it when I just got my new stove.

Six years ago I needed a new fridge and liked Whirlpool products. I found one at Lowes that was a side by side and had water and ice in the door. The ice bucket and dispenser were in the door and gave more room in the freezer. The wife wanted black but I said I want stainless steel and I won that one! Well I never lived down my choice! Within 6 months the removable ice bucket would freeze fast and it leaked water down the front of the door.

To make it short I argued with Whirlpool service reps for over 3 months trying to get them to replace the fridge with a different model. They lied to me saying no one else was having problems. A factory service guy was here about 4 times and said everyone was having problems with the indoor ice makers. He finally replaced the whole freezer door but the leaking has persisted. Whirlpool never researched how to get rid of the water created during the defrost cycle. I am done with Whirlpool!