Author Topic: Brisket on rectec  (Read 2313 times)

Offline slothritis

Brisket on rectec
« Reply #-1 on: November 18, 2016, 03:42:44 PM »
Hello all! I have a question. I am planning to make a brisket for a thanksgiving picnic. Its about 12-14lbs. If we are planing to eat lets say at 11am thanksgiving day, when should I start smoking it and for how long and what temp? I assume I'll be starting it the day before. I have a rec tec mini btw.  Thanks.

Offline Roget

Re: Brisket on rectec
« on: November 18, 2016, 04:50:51 PM »
I'm no expert, but the few briskets I have smoked took an average of about 11-14 hours to get to an IT of 185-195.
I cook mine at a low temp. (220-225 F) You might have to adjust if you use a higher cook temp.
I apply 4 hours of smoke to mine.
You can FTC it for quite a while if it gets done early.

I hope that helps you a bit.
YCDBSOYA

GMG Davy Crockett
GMG Jim Bowie
Charbroil SRG
Charbroil BigEasy
Blackstone Pizza Oven
Blackstone Flat Top X 2 (36" & 28")
DBS w/Auberins dual probe PID
Anova Precision Sous Vide Cooker
Grand Hall 3 burner Grill w/rotisserie,smoke tray, & side burner

Offline slothritis

« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2016, 05:39:05 PM »
I'm no expert, but the few briskets I have smoked took an average of about 11-14 hours to get to an IT of 185-195.
I cook mine at a low temp. (220-225 F) You might have to adjust if you use a higher cook temp.
I apply 4 hours of smoke to mine.
You can FTC it for quite a while if it gets done early.

I hope that helps you a bit.
So if I am serving at 12 noon, what time should I start? I assume the day before, but when?

Offline HighOnSmoke

• Global Moderator
  • Palm Bay, Florida
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2016, 06:31:34 PM »