Author Topic: Dough questions  (Read 2871 times)

Offline muebe

• Santa Clarita,Ca
Dough questions
« Reply #-1 on: September 27, 2013, 09:22:17 AM »
I have a wood fired pizza oven in it's way so I have a few questions about dough...

I found a few good recipes using my bread maker to make dough. The dough uses yeast. Seems pretty easy to make this way. Will this kind of dough work well for making 4 minute wood fired pizzas? Or is there a dough that does not use yeast that works better?

And can you pizza experts post some of your dough recipes on a thread here? Maybe Smoke can make one that is a sticky?

I found one that uses honey. It sounds really good. I am hoping that the bread machine method is something that will work since I am a newbie when it comes to the dough world.
Member #22
2 TBEs(1 natural gas & 1 LP gas)
OBS(Auberins dual probe PID, 900w finned element & convection fan mods)
2011 Memphis Select Pellet Smoker
Traeger PTG with PID
PBC
BBQ Grillware vertical smoker(oven thermostat installed & converted to natural gas)
Uuni 2 Wood Fired Pizza Oven

Offline hikerman

Re: Dough questions
« on: September 27, 2013, 10:34:11 AM »
Mike, first my opinion is to definitely stay with yeast. That gives the airy crust that not only looks good but tastes great as well.  I have a few go-to recipes but I'm at work now and can get them to you later.
Congrats on the pellet pizza oven!

Offline hikerman

« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2013, 11:27:46 AM »
Mike here is a good one.
Www.bakingsteel.com/pizza-dough-peter-reinhart-baking-steel/

Offline drholly

• Member No Longer With Us
  • Brooklyn Park, MN
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2013, 11:29:25 AM »
meube,