Author Topic: OK Smoker Pros - Pulled Pork Questions  (Read 1723 times)

Offline Smokerjunky

OK Smoker Pros - Pulled Pork Questions
« Reply #-1 on: May 16, 2014, 12:18:57 AM »
I have been cooking pork butts on my Weber Summit for a few years now but I just got a Blazin Grand Slam Pellet Grill. My son wants me to do pulled pork on the new smoker for his birthday dinner. On the Weber I could hardly get the temp lower than 275. Using indirect heat I would cook two 5 pounders for around 7 hours give or take. They always turned out great but not much smoke flavor as the wood chips in the smoker burner just don't work that great.

That leads me to my questions:
1)  should I set the grill at 165 'ish for an hour or so to get better smoke flavor or will it get all that flavor cooking at 225?

2)  how long does it generally take to cook butts at 225 if I want to get them up to 195 to pull? (I am going to cook four of them so I can send a bunch of leftovers with "The Kid" since he just moved out)

3)  I was thinking Apple wood pellets for the pork cook - any thoughts on best wood types for pork?

Any and all input is appreciated!

Thanks
Grand Slam Pro
Weber Summit

Offline Las Vegan Cajun

• Ralph in LA$ VEGA$
Re: OK Smoker Pros - Pulled Pork Questions
« on: May 16, 2014, 12:28:27 AM »
I was thinking Apple wood pellets for the pork cook - any thoughts on best wood types for pork?

Apple is a good choice so is hickory.  ;)
Laissez Les Bon Temps Rouler
----------------------
Magma Marine Kettle, Camp Chef Single Burner, Dutch Oven Table & Denali 3X, Lodge Habachi, BEESR, WSJ w/GrillGrates, WSM 18.5, Masterbuilt Pro Smoker, Anova Sous Vide (X2), Traeger Jr, 12" A-MAZE-N Tube, PBC, LEM Dehydrator, Dorkfood (DSV)

Offline HighOnSmoke

• Global Moderator
  • Palm Bay, Florida
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2014, 04:09:19 AM »
Apple pellets are good with the pork.  On my pellet grill I will normally start at 185 for the first