Author Topic: Big Easy Electric SR - questions from a new user  (Read 1142 times)

Offline tintucan

Big Easy Electric SR - questions from a new user
« Reply #-1 on: September 22, 2014, 02:29:14 PM »
I just got my Big Easy Electric SR and used it for the first time this weekend.  I need a bit of helpful advice in using it.  I have no experience with the Big Easy and will not claim all that much experience in either cooking or grilling.

I noticed on another post that someone indicated that you need to allow the BEESR to warm up.  The instruction book said no preheating was necessary unless using wood chips or pellets for smoking.  Is it better to do some preheating?

The first things I did were some chicken wings & three thighs & legs.  It took a lot longer than I anticipated in cooking.  I think I had the power level set at either 11 or 12.  I used three levels of surface and the chicken was a bit crowded to fit everything in.  I had the thighs on the lowest level.  After about 1 1/2 hour I was able to take up some on the wings pieces on the top level and then spread out the top and middle level a bit.  I took up the rest of the wings over the next 30 minutes because we were starving.  It was a total of three hours before the thighs were done.

I was basing the power level on the temp. that I cooked wings in the oven which only took just over an hour.  Did I have too much in the BEESR and too close together?

The next day I did a pork roast at power level 13 and it only took about 1 1/2 hour but it was the only thing in the BEESR.  I used the thermometer thing this time though I'm not confident in it's accuracy.  When the targeted temperature was reached and I took the roast out I rechecked the temp. with a regular meat thermometer.  I didn't get the same reading as the BEESR thermometer so I put the roast back in and maybe I shouldn't have done that.