Author Topic: While chicken and red potatoes on SRG.  (Read 2653 times)

Offline CMartinEnt

While chicken and red potatoes on SRG.
« Reply #-1 on: July 10, 2016, 06:16:58 PM »
I am getting ready to put a whole chicken and some red potatoes in the SRG. I am going to use a lemon pepper rub, but had a quick question. I have read to brush the bird with oil halfway through to get a crispy skin. How will it turn out if I use peanut oil on it before I rub?  I don't want to burn the skin, and this is my first time trying to use he SRG as a rotisserie.
Thanks!

Offline hikerman

Re: While chicken and red potatoes on SRG.
« on: July 10, 2016, 06:30:39 PM »
I am getting ready to put a whole chicken and some red potatoes in the SRG. I am going to use a lemon pepper rub, but had a quick question. I have read to brush the bird with oil halfway through to get a crispy skin. How will it turn out if I use peanut oil on it before I rub?  I don't want to burn the skin, and this is my first time trying to use he SRG as a rotisserie.
Thanks!

CME, I don't have an SRG but, if you are spinning this, maybe wait on the oil and see how it goes. If you are  using a rottiserie it should be easy to oil it as it moves!

Offline CMartinEnt

« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2016, 07:00:15 PM »
Thanks for the reply, but the SRG is not a typical rotisserie. It's an ifared cooker. It's a new version of Charbroils The Big Easy. I'm about to rub now so I'm just going to go without the oil and see how it goes!

Offline hikerman

« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2016, 08:04:47 PM »
Oh I misunderstood you. I thought you somehow rigged up a rotisserie to your SRG!
Good luck!

Offline CMartinEnt

« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2016, 08:13:54 PM »
Thank you!  Hopefully tomorrow I can get a post up.

Offline TwoPockets

« Reply #4 on: July 10, 2016, 10:27:06 PM »
I have the old TBE and I always oil to get a crispy skin.
Ken

Weber Performer charcoal grill
Char-Broil The Big Easy
Char-Broil H20 electric smoker (back from the dead)