Author Topic: New Guy..Help Needed..Intro  (Read 1722 times)

Offline frogpond

New Guy..Help Needed..Intro
« Reply #-1 on: November 07, 2016, 10:12:12 AM »
Hey y'all, new guy here!  I posted my intro in the intros section..link below..

http://www.letstalkbbq.com/index.php?topic=18991.0

Like I said in my intro, I am COMPLETELY new to cooking and just got my Big Easy this past weekend.  I'm looking forward to learning how to cook all sorts of delicious things in it.  But I am starting from square one.  So I'll probably have a lot of questions, probably so many that you guys are gonna get sick of me.   ;D  But I hope to learn and contribute to the conversation eventually as well. 

So I guess to get things started, I plan on seasoning my Big Easy soon and then start experimenting!  One of the reasons I bought it was because I thought it would be great for bacon wrapped appetizers since the infrared heat wouldn't burn the bacon as badly as other methods.  So I think I want to start relatively simple and just try some bacon wrapped chicken or bacon wrapped steak.  I ordered the Bunk Bed Basket accessory to go with it just for the purpose of cooking up something like this.  It will arrive in a few days at the house.  So I have a little time to get prepped for this.  My questions would be... How do cook times work for the smaller portion appetizers like this?  Do I just check the temp of the individual pieces and make sure they're up to the recommended temp for chicken/beef, etc?  Also, will I have any issues with the bacon sticking to the basket?  Just wondering if I need to lay down some foil or not.