Author Topic: Bullseye update 2.5 months in  (Read 9081 times)

Offline tlg4942

• "Way down in Alabama"
Bullseye update 2.5 months in
« Reply #-1 on: June 08, 2021, 03:46:59 PM »
  I've been using the Bullseye for a couple of months now. This is a great grill for everyday use! It truly has become my daily cooker over all others.  It heats up quickly and cooks fast for the most part and it does a great job with the smoke flavor even cooking at faster speeds. To slow it down a bit I add a pizza stone to the heat shield. It still cooks a little fast but avoids premature browning and allows a little better smoke ring to develop.
  I have used Cabelas, Pitboss, Kingsford, and Bear Mountian pellets so far.  Kingsford has been the best and Bear Mountain the least impressive.  My next run will be with B&B and Jealous Devil since they are readily available close by.
   Now, I'm not as tidy as a lot of you when it comes to cleaning everything. I do keep things wiped down ( grates, edge surfaces, etc.. )  but historically I don't do big cleaning on my grills a lot.  I have a mini shop vac that I have been keeping the ash sucked out pretty much every other cook.  What I found this weekend is that this grill will require a bit more detail... This could be partly because of what I have cooked in it.  Pork roast and beef chucks both of which give off more grease than the burgers, fish, and sausage tend to.   
  Sunday I had smoke coming back through my pellet box which was concerning. I first blamed it on the new pellets but then I saw a comment on FB that said clean the vents. This was indeed the issue. They were completely blocked with grease and dust which apparently was causing a backflow of air.  They were easy to clean with a nylon brush and a screwdriver in a couple of places.
 Tonight I will give it a full run to see that all is well now.
 Having the small vac makes cleaning the dust out easy and now that I know... the vents should be pretty easy to keep clear.