Author Topic: One door closes and another opens...  (Read 11331 times)

Offline Ka Honu

One door closes and another opens...
« Reply #-1 on: May 03, 2020, 12:42:17 AM »
My old Bradley finally went out in a smoky blaze. After about 12-13 years, even regular cleaning apparently didn't remove all the flammables from all the nooks and crannies and it caught fire during a tri-tip, sausage, and pork extravaganza Friday morning. I'd already pulled everything but the pork and smelled the fire within a few minutes so I even got to save my butt (so to speak). The smoker, however, is history. I move it a good "social distance" from everything else when I'm using it so nothing else caught fire. It was a sad day but it wasn't a disaster.

As it happens, the oven on our kitchen range burned out a week or so ago and the new range was delivered today. Kinda like what we had but with a convection oven which I've never used before. Decided to try out the "convection roast" setting on stuffed pork chops (couscous, spinach, garlic, & pepper jack cheese) and Hasselback potatoes. Purely experimental so no real expectations. Turned out better than either of us expected - might not have been as elegantly plated but definitely fine steakhouse quality.

We're sold on the convection thing and SWMBO hopes it will distract me for a while before I replace a redundant deceased smoker with something I don't really need. We'll see what we see.

Everyone is entitled to my opinion

Offline RG

• Just a Fat Guy Cooking Stuff
Re: One door closes and another opens...
« on: May 03, 2020, 06:18:13 AM »
Let me start with the good......that plate looks stellar to me!

The bad......more like sad I guess, that's a LONG time to have a cooker and it served you well. You definitely got your money's worth out of it.

More good......since you bought that Bradley, there have been a TON of new grills on the market. Maybe a pellet grill or one of those charcoal gravity jobs like Jack has might work for you.