Author Topic: Cooking Turkey  (Read 5597 times)

Offline cookiecdcmk

• Always looking for new ways to improve my food.
Cooking Turkey
« Reply #-1 on: November 23, 2022, 08:19:56 AM »
Everyone is probably getting ready for Thanksgiving, and I will do the usual turkeys.  Over the years, I have cooked them using almost everything including Big Easy, Pellet Grill, Smoker, Offset, Grill, Propane Deep Fryer, and Kitchen Oven.  I have been using the Propane Deep Fryer for many years now, because everyone likes fried turkey.  The other methods were successful to different degress, and everyone usually has a favorite.  I recently have been looking at the Masterbuilt 10.6 qt Electric Deep Fryer and wondered if anyone has used one and what they think about it?  It looks less messy and I like the oil drain, but I see mixed reviews on it.

Offline tlg4942

• "Way down in Alabama"
Re: Cooking Turkey
« on: November 23, 2022, 04:39:28 PM »
  I'm going to do a turkey on the 980 tomorrow morning.  I always used my crawfish pot for turkeys if frying or boiling.  Since I tend to be on the messy side I get in less trouble if I keep it outside!
Hope you have a nice Thanksgiving.   
Terry "Way down in Alabama"

Offline cookiecdcmk

• Always looking for new ways to improve my food.
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2022, 04:57:02 PM »
Good luck with yours.  One other reason that I thought about the electric fryer is less chance for fire.  I read that there are over 4300 fires each year with turkey fryers.

Offline Lines

« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2022, 06:12:40 PM »
We're having turkey. I have been busy restoring some furniture and other household items, so I'm letting the Mrs. cook ours in the kitchen oven. I don't mind that at all because she does a very good job. We might try deep frying ours next year. I've seen some of my friends do it, so I kind of have an idea how. I do know it is delicious.

Offline Ka Honu

« Reply #3 on: November 24, 2022, 12:38:03 AM »