Other Cooking Equipment > Cast Iron & Campfire Cooking

Need Advice from the cast iron gurus

(1/2) > >>

GusRobin:
One of my gifts was a Lodge 5qt cast iron double dutch oven with a lid that also can be used as a skillet. This is my first cast iron item so I had a few questions.
1) It says it is pre- seasoned so should I still season it before use?
2) Read about how older cast iron used to be smooth where nowadays they come with a rougher surface. So some suggest that you should sand/grind them smooth and then re-season. Should I do that?

thanks for the inputs

Ka Honu:
Gus - You had to pick one of the (many?/few?) topics at which I'm not an expert but that's no reason to stop me from allowing you the benefit of my opinions...

Yes, it's pre-seasoned (but not really). Do it yourself.

Rough texture (modern) cast iron is said to help the seasoning and oil adhere better (and only takes a couple of hours to make).

Smooth/polished (old style) is what gave cast iron its reputation as non-stick cookware (but still holds its seasoning well). Took about 2-3 days to make.

It's pretty much up to you on which you prefer. You can sand rough down to smooth if you're careful (don't want to thin the pan too much or unevenly) - lots of stuff about how to do it on Google.

I prefer the smooth for when I'm concerned about the non-stick thing (eggs for example) but only have one so I tend not to use it for "everything else." Of course both work well for cornbread if you get the bacon grease hot enough.

That's all I know (but don't hesitate to ask for any assistance that I may or may not be able to legitimately offer; lack of knowledge and/or ability never stopped me from commenting).

GusRobin:
Thanks

Pam Gould: