Author Topic: Adding a tube smoker?  (Read 2993 times)

Offline pwebster2

Adding a tube smoker?
« Reply #-1 on: July 31, 2014, 05:50:57 PM »
Hello all,

Looking for some feedback on whether to add a tube smoker to my Smokin-it model #1 or not.  I'm new to smoking and have used my model 1, 6 or 7 times so far.  I'm not getting a rolling smoke out of the vent.  It seems to vent whiffs of smoke as I increase the temp for maybe 10 or 15 minutes and then what appears to be nothing.  I'm getting smoke flavor but am missing the heavy bark and smoke ring on the bigger muscle meats and color on chicken.

Smoker junky has suggested I purchase a smoker tube for about $30. 

I've tried soaking the wood chunks in water and not soaking them.  My feeling is soaking the wood in water or not makes no difference and the steam created might be counterproductive.

Suggestions?

Thank you!
Smokin-It Model #1
Char Broil Commercial Series

Offline Hub

Re: Adding a tube smoker?
« on: July 31, 2014, 06:38:44 PM »
Unless you are one of the rare folks that really wants heavy smokiness (creosote) just ease up a bit.  "Blue" smoke is produced by a well tuned stick burner or pellet cooker.  "White" smoke is produced by smoldering wood and some smoke augmentation units working several ways.  There's nothing wrong with it, but most people like their barbeque to be a combination of the meat, the rub, the sauce, the wood, etc.,  instead of just smoke.  Bear down and taste you results and evaluate carefully, particularly after the cook, not during it.  If you want to see lots of white smoke, you might not be doing yourself a favor.

One of the most interesting phenomena, often cited here, is that smokiness increases after the cook not during it. 

Hub
Committed Pellethead & BBQ Writer
KCBS MCBJ & CTC
Ph.B.
Memphis Advantage
NOS American-made Traeger 075
Weber Performer
NG Weber Spirit (warming oven)
PBC
NO SMOKE DETECTOR IN MY OUTDOOR KITCHEN

Offline LostArrow

• Often wrong but never in doubt!