Author Topic: Franklin bbq style brisket  (Read 5643 times)

Offline hppzz

Franklin bbq style brisket
« Reply #-1 on: May 26, 2015, 12:47:32 PM »
1st, thanks to all in this forum, been lurking since getting the pbc. I'm a bbq noob and my first brisket was just ok...but after reading 'franklin bbq a meat smoking manifesto', I decided to try it again with his tips. Just did a prime brisket from costco and wanted to  share some thoughts from the book and how I used it in the cook.

1. slather was simply touch of water to keep the brisket tacky. Water based slather won't inhibit bark formation and smoke adsorption that oil based might. 

2. 275 is his preferred temp. This is where really knowing your PBC is key. I use maverick Moniter temps and Knowing how to lower and increase temp by adjusting vents and lid I was able to keep the temps pretty consistent.  Normally for chicken and ribs, I just set it and forget it, but for this I monitored it a bit more.

3. Smoke. Increased smoke by adding chunks of post oak buried in the briquettes and also made a smokebomb with the smaller pieces of oak.

4. Cook thru the stall and wrap when bark is satisfactory. I would say this is the most important thing i did different from my first cook where I wrapped at 166 and bark was underdeveloped. I cooked it past the stall to 180 and bark was deep mahogany in first photo.

5. Wrap with butcher paper. Permeable so Allows for smoke to enter. I actually used parchment. No liquid.

I pulled at 203 (second photo after 1 hr rest) his default temp, but also checked by feel which he goes more into in the book.

Overall really happy with how the brisket turned out and how the PBC performed to recreate the Franklin style brisket. Overall cook time was 7 hours and I used the grate, fat side up. Keep cooking and knowing how your PBC behaves is really key.   

Thanks to all for a successful cook! Btw, if you never had smoked corn on the cob , do it with your next PB cook!!