Author Topic: Rolled Chicken Florentine  (Read 1323 times)

Offline Hornzbee

• Hooterville, NC
Rolled Chicken Florentine
« Reply #-1 on: September 16, 2012, 07:59:51 PM »
I thought that maybe I could have posted this in "Healthy Alternatives" . It certainly would have fit there.  Very simple, chicken breast, frozen spinach, ham & swiss cheese. The sauce (on the side) : can o mushroom soup, H2O, thyme and white cooking wine.

Chick breast, butterflied and pounded to 1/4"

Ham then cheese then spinach, drained very well btw.  Sorry, the pic of them rolled and tied was a blurry mess. Did one tie end to end to contain it all.

Mopped them with the sauce a bit. Too late into the cook though. Im new to both the Yoder and cooking lean meats without bacon wrapped around them. ;)

Wish I had spritzed em or mopped them more....oh well

Internal temp of 160.

Dang it! Forgot to turn the flash back on my phone...but you get the idea.

Another one of my not-so-great attempts of photography.

All in all a very tasty, healthy meal (I know carb is absent)  Problems: sauce was not to my liking. Not a big fan a thyme really. Next time Cream of chicken soup maybe with herbs I like more. Or maybe without sauce altogether.

The biggest issue was the tough outer chicken breast.  Im sure now I would have done better spritzing or mopping it more often.  What is a good neutral tasting concoction I can spritz with?  While my wife swore she liked it like that, I didnt. It certainly wasnt that tough or anything but .... Of course I further compounded the problem by filling my 18" Amazen smoker and lighting it on both ends, set the Yoder to 160F and let it go for 1 1/2hrs before ramping it up. It definitely had the smoke level I wanted.  Next time I plan on doing it Mexican style and getting it right!  If anyone has any ideas or suggestions I'd thank ya!

-John
Yoder YS640
Bradley 6 Shelf
& some cruddy old gas grill

Offline Keymaster

• Keymaster Kitchen
Re: Rolled Chicken Florentine