Author Topic: First Impressions - Traditional Smoking  (Read 5944 times)

Offline veryolddog

• New Braunfels, Texas
First Impressions - Traditional Smoking
« Reply #-1 on: June 21, 2013, 03:30:22 PM »
I admit it: I am a complete rookie when it comes to smoking by the traditional wood and charcoal method. So last night was a good first experience for me. I lighted the smoker at 6:00 PM and continued to 12:00AM at which time I let the fire die down. I have a long way to go before my experience data base will equal many of you who have been doing this type of smoking for a gazillion years. Here's a few of my first impressions:[/li][/list]

1. After we moved the smoker to its permanent location on the patio, I loaded it with Royal Oak Lump Charcoal. I started the fire by using my blow torch and within 30 to 60 seconds, the charcoal was flaming away. Just to let you know, I had previously watched a number of videos on YouTube where there were some excellent videos on how to start fire in the fire pit and how to keep an even temperature.

2. After the charcoal was really glowing hot, I placed 3 small split logs on the coals and the wood instantly ignited.

The Yoder Cheyenne in its new home.

The fire in the fire pit after the logs are placed.

3.After this, I closed the side door with the butterfly air control and the top lid to the fire pit. I left the butterfly air control wide open.

4. At this time, I began to watch the thermometer near the chimney stack of the smoker. I did not use anything else as I my purpose was to start a fire, keep it going and season the smoker. When the temperature reached 275 degrees, I closed the butterfly air control by 50 per cent. Within a half hour, the smoker stabilized at 250 degrees. According to everything that I read and watched on YouTube, I was informed that I should return in one hour and place more wood in the fire pit.