Author Topic: Is Competition Going In The Right Direction?  (Read 26301 times)

Offline Hub

Is Competition Going In The Right Direction?
« Reply #-1 on: February 11, 2016, 12:37:53 PM »
For those of us who dabble in cooking and judging on the competition circuit, here's a read that is worth the time.  I've been competing and/or judging for about fifteen years, getting more and more involved over time.  I've seen a lot of changes and I think most have been good ones but where does it all lead?  How is this hobby/sport perceived by the two key publics that really matter, the contestants and the general public?  Lots of food for thought here:

http://firstwefeast.com/eat/competitive-bbq-circuit-derailing-the-soul-of-bbq/
Committed Pellethead & BBQ Writer
KCBS MCBJ & CTC
Ph.B.
Memphis Advantage
NOS American-made Traeger 075
Weber Performer
NG Weber Spirit (warming oven)
PBC
NO SMOKE DETECTOR IN MY OUTDOOR KITCHEN

Offline ACW3

• Morganton, NC
Re: Is Competition Going In The Right Direction?
« on: February 11, 2016, 02:12:20 PM »
Very interesting article.  I think the idea of having Pro / Amateur levels of competition might have some merit.  As we have different levels of competition in car racing (dirt track all the way to super speedways), why not BBQ competitions?  Something to discuss over an adult beverage or three and a few plates of good bones.

Art
MAK 2 STAR (#171) Since RETIRED!
MAK 2 STAR (#4408)
Weber Kettle W/ Rotisserie
Uuni 2 Pizza Oven
Member #11

Offline akruckus

• Smoking the day away...
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2016, 02:25:28 PM »
Very interesting article.  I think the idea of having Pro / Amateur levels of competition might have some merit.  As we have different levels of competition in car racing (dirt track all the way to super speedways), why not BBQ competitions?  Something to discuss over an adult beverage or three and a few plates of good bones.

Art