Author Topic: First run with the PBC  (Read 1866 times)

Offline jabby

First run with the PBC
« Reply #-1 on: September 08, 2013, 08:20:23 AM »
Sorry no pictures. I'm juggling kids/family and didn't have time. Also, I'm pretty new at this - I currently have a cheapo gas grill and the most complicated thing I've made is probably wings (which I tend to burn but they still taste good). I'm going into detail here and while I understand I could simply call Noah on his cell with any questions, I didn't bother and figured I could figure it out and learn after if necessary.

So the PBC arrived yesterday (Saturday) via Fed Ex at 3:15 or so. I already bought charcoal on Friday, 2 whole chickens and a 8 pound pork shoulder Saturday morning. I lined the bottom with foil (careful not to cover the airhole which I adjusted for my altitude of 800' to 1/4). Since it was late and the kids were going to be hungry, I decided to just go with the chickens. Fired up the charcoal, using a weber starter.

http://www.amazon.com/Weber-7416-Rapidfire-Chimney-Starter/dp/B000WEOQV8

The starter was pretty big and dumping the hot coals into the charcoal basket didn't work out so well. It was too big to simply dump them within the barrel with the charcoal basket in place at the bottom. After, I was thinking I could have raised the charcoal basket unto the grate and dumped onto them from above the barrel (which wouldn't have been far). Then, pick up the basket, lift out the grate and put the bsket back in. Didn't notice how Noah did it in the video and maybe he did that. I was too hyped up to look at the videos again.

I split the chickens just like the video said. I'd never dealt with whole chickens before (I've done a thanksgiving bird) so cutting it was a bit intimidating. Until I realized how easy it was to go through the bone. I also didn't have a big enough cutting board for 2 whole birds but I'll get a new one.