Author Topic: Basic PBC Questions  (Read 4230 times)

Offline jabby

Basic PBC Questions
« Reply #-1 on: September 11, 2013, 10:22:06 AM »
First off, I do appreaciate that Noah put out his contact info and I could simply contact him directly with questions. But I really am all about the community, and feel it's of much more use if I put these questions here so others can potentially gain some useful knowledege. I also think it's interesting to hear other people's experiences - the PBC folks are the experts on their products, but surely others have valuable insights as well.

So I did my first cook and while it was good - probably better than any chicken I've had - it wasn't quite right. The learning curve, as expected. I'm new to anything other than basic grilling as well as the PBC.

So my questions...

1. I think on my first run, I bothced the initial coals which made the PBC run too hot. What temperature should the PBC be after the coals have been lit for the requisite 15-20 minutes? Where should I measure this temperature in this scenario - right above the charcoal?

2. I've seen countless recipes that look excpetional. But they run for an hour or two. Does everyone just let the coals burn for another 6-8 hours? Seems wasteful to me, but I'm a newbie so maybe that's just the cost of doing business. I could and likely will cook multiple things, but with a family it's tough to manage.

I'm cooking a pork shoulder this weekend. Can't wait!

Thanks in advance!

Offline smokeasaurus

• Global Moderator
Re: Basic PBC Questions
« on: September 11, 2013, 11:34:26 AM »
You do not go by temps with the PBC. Light it like shown on the video on the PBC site and put your food in at 20 minutes. If you use the cooking grate instead of hanging you must keep the rebar in place. The PBC was designed to have these in place when cooking.