Author Topic: THE “NO NITRITES ADDED” HOAX  (Read 1533 times)

Offline RAD

THE “NO NITRITES ADDED” HOAX
« Reply #-1 on: March 19, 2014, 06:49:14 AM »
http://ruhlman.com/2011/05/the-no-nitrites-added-hoax/

A coworker was talking about his diet and not eating processed meat. He said something about one of the farmers markets is going to start selling bacon that was cured/smoked without using any nitrites. Now, I know I am still new at this but my first thought was about smoking anything below 160 and the dangers associated with it. So I started a little research and came across this and thought to myself if this is what the farmer’s market guy will be doing. celery???

What do the experts think about this topic?

Love to cook and eat

Offline sliding_billy

• North Texas
Re: THE “NO NITRITES ADDED” HOAX
« on: March 19, 2014, 07:59:02 AM »
"Can we really be this stupid?  I have only one word to say on this beyond an emphatic yes."

That pretty much sums it up.
Custom Offset/GMG Davy Crockett/Vision Kamado/Blackstone 36"/Weber 22" "redhead"/ WSM 14.5" X2/Jumbo Joe/Pit Boss Copperhead/KCBS

Offline TentHunteR

• Global Moderator
  • N.E. Ohio
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2014, 11:07:46 AM »
Yes, that is a very good article. Ironically Kirby (CANNON-MAN) and I were just talking about this very subject yesterday.  I did a fairly detailed write-up about a year and a half ago on this subject. Curing Sausage with Celery Juice - the experiment

I spent almost a year (off & on) researching this and let me tell you, good info was NOT easy to come by.  Much of it is kept secret withing the food trade because they don't want you knowing.

They are counting on people like your friend NOT reading the label carefully. Nowhere does it say "Nitrate/Nitrite Free" or "No Nitritates/Nitrites."
What the label says is "No Nitrates/Nitrites ADDED," meaning that no Sodium Nitrate or Nitrite was added as a separate ingredient.